II. Indications

III. Precautions

  1. Gluten is prevalent in food products
  2. Read all food labels carefully
  3. Glutens may be unexpectedly present in products
    1. Medications
    2. Food additives, emulsifiers or stabilizers
    3. Soy sauce (True tamari sauce contains no wheat)

IV. Management: Food to avoid

  1. Wheat (and kamut, semolina, spelt and triticale)
  2. Rye
  3. Barley (and malt)
  4. Beers, Lagers, Ales, and Stouts

V. Management: Foods allowed (do not contain gluten)

  1. Foods marked with gluten-free symbol
  2. Amaranth
  3. Corn
  4. Rice
  5. Buckwheat
  6. Potato
  7. Soybean
  8. Sorghum
  9. Millet
  10. Quinoa
  11. Tapioca flours
  12. Teff
  13. Wine, Liqueurs, whiskey, brandy and most ciders
  14. Oats (if specifically labeled as gluten-free, and not contaminated with wheat, rye or barley)

VI. Management: Flour Alternatives

  1. Non-Gluten cereal grains above on the allowable list
  2. Legumes (e.g. chickpeas, Kidney beans, lentils, soybeans)
  3. Nuts (e.g. almonds, cashews, hazelnuts, walnuts)
  4. Seeds (e.g. flax, sunflower, pumpkin)
  5. Tubers (e.g. arrowroot, jicama, potato, tapioca)

VII. Resources

  1. Don Wiss's Gluten-free Links
    1. http://www.gluten-free.org
  2. Gluten Free Casein Free Diet (GFCF Diet)
    1. http://www.gfcfdiet.com

Images: Related links to external sites (from Bing)

Related Studies (from Trip Database) Open in New Window